Food and fights about food.

Watch a movie this morning in Disney. I think it was called Food Boy or something, I cant really remember. It’s main character was a high school student who had the power to generate any kind of food out of his wrist (sort of like Spiderman and his silk thingy but in this case it’s food). Anyway, the guy who plays the main character is that guy from High School Musical, I mean one of the twins (did I ever mention that I’m not very good with names? No? Well this is as good as anytime to mention it).

Ok, back to Food Boy (or whatever the title of that movie was).  Since the movie was about food and the boy with the power to generate them this meant that a lot of food was used for props. I was bothered by this because while I was watching the movie I kept on thinking about the peole on the other side of the globe who werent eating right, or even of the people in the slums who barely have enough to eat. It sucked, having to watch a movie wherein a lot of real food was wasted while there’s such a thing as global hunger.

Another thing that bothered me about the movie was the food fight scene. I’ve noticed that a lot of American films dealing with kids always has a food fight scene in it. Think about it: people are starving everywhere and on tv we see a bunch of kids throwing food around and not giving a damn except for the fun that they get out of it. I mean, where’s the sense in that?

Is their country trying to send out a message to the rest of the world? Are they saying that “Hey, we’re a rich country so we can afford to play with our food!” Is there some sort of unconsious power play in their films which is supposed to awe the rest of the world that these people are so secure in their enviroment that they can throw around food and not care beyond having to clean up their mess afterwards?

I don’t know. I’m just guessing.

I must have watched too much conspiracy theory documentaries. X.X

Leave a Reply

